Zack Mitchell Leads Flag-To-Flag At Fayetteville Motor Speedway In The 9th Annual Ed Gibbons Memorial

Fayetteville, North Carolina (3/25/17) - Zack Mitchell entered the Ed Gibbons Memorial Event hot off a second place finish at the Skyler Trull Memorial and was quick to make a statement that his car would live to his nickname "Kid Quick." He grabbed the pole for the race and led every lap in route to his second career Carolina Clash victory.

G.R. Smith of Cornelius, NC was very fast over most of the event and even challenged Mitchell late in the event but could not overhaul the leader.

Carquest Rookie of the Year from 2016 Brett Hamm rebounded from early season woes at Cherokee Speedway to finish third. 2016 point champion Johnny Pursley finished fourth and 2015 point champion Ben Watkins scored a fifth place run.

The Carolina Clash would like to thank Mr. and Mrs. Jim Long, Jr. of Fayetteville Motor Speedway for hosting the Carolina Clash for this 9th annual memorial race. He announced at the beginning of the night that the 2018 version of the Ed Gibbons 10th Annual Memorial Race would be a $10,000 to win event. Fayetteville Motor Speedway is quickly emerging as one a top-notch southeastern US dirt speedway with all of the major improvements that Mr. Long and his staff have made there. Many more renovations are currently being planned and track surface improvements are ongoing, with great feedback being given from drivers after last weekend. Many indicated that if turns one and two become as fast as the other corners, which received all of the off-season resurfacing, the track is going to be bad, bad fast!

For more information, visit 

The Carolina Clash Super Late Model Series is sponsored by Heintz Performance, American Racer, Hoosier Racing Tire, VP Racing Fuels, Clarendon Auto Parts (CarQuest) Performance Tees, Franklin Signs and Graphics, Big As Custom Graphics, TRT Trailer Sales, and Thomas Clarke Performance.

Fayetteville Motor Speedway "Ed Gibbons Memorial" 3/25/17 Race Results

1. 57 Zack Mitchell
2. 22 GR Smith
3. 18 Brett Hamm
4. 09 Johnny Pursley
5. 17 Ben Watkins
6. 00 Jeff Smith
7. 1 Willie Milliken
8. 24 Michael Brown
9. 1 Austin Hubbard
10. 89 Justin Williams
11. 421 Anthony Sanders
12. 15 Dean Bowen
13. 23 Michael Rouse
14. 60 Jim Manka
15. 10 Scott Shirey
16. 03 David Yandle
17. 42 Doug Sanders
18. 0 Daniel Tucker
19. 32 Dustin Mitchell
20. 72 Mike Parker
21. Q7 Tony Quarles